Brunnen am Rossmarkt - Alzey

German Conversation Get-Togethers

German get-togethers are for members and friends to practice conversational German at any level. Beginners to advanced are very welcome.

Friends of Alzey offer members two types of German get-together:

  • A Stammtisch will take place on the last Saturday of every month.
  • A German Conversation Evening taking place monthly, to be advised.

Stammtisch

The concept of a Stammtisch (much loved and used in Germany) is that the same table is always reserved in a bar or café for the use of the particular group at the same time every week or month. The group members simply go to that table at that time without the need to notify the group organiser. Our Stammtisch for conversation in German is at the The Harpenden Arms 188, High Street, AL5 2TR from 10 to 11.30 a.m. every last Saturday of the month. Please note there will be no Stammtisch in December 2021.

German Conversation Evening

We held many successful conversation evenings over zoom during the pandemic but we have resumed the practice of conversation evenings at members' homes. They occur throughout the year except in August when there is no meeting. The start time is 7:30 pm. Please phone the host for the particular evening either on the day or the day before the meeting. If this is not possible please do not let it stop you from attending. There is a charge of £1.50 per evening which includes a glass of wine or soft drink and nibbles. You will be very welcome to participate in as many or as few evenings as you like.
Click this link for a calendar for this year's conversation evenings, including venues and contact details. Please note that this document is for members only and is password protected.

Dates of German Stammtisch for 2021/2022

Day Date Time
Saturday 30.04.2022 10.00
Saturday 28.05.2022 10.00
Saturday 25.06.2022 10.00
Saturday 30.07.2022 10.00
Saturday 27.08.2022 10.00
Saturday 24.09.2022 10.00
Saturday 29.10.2022 10.00
Saturday 26.11.2022 10.00

Stammtisch location is the The Harpenden Arms, High St, Harpenden AL5 2TR.

Dates of German Conversation Evenings for 2022

Day Date Time
Monday 21.03.2021 19.30
Tuesday 19.04.2022 19.30
Wednesday 28.05.2022 19.30
Tuesday 21.06.2022 19.30
Wednesday 20.07.2022 19.30
August No Conversation Evening
Monday 19.09.2022 19.30
Tuesday 18.10.2022 19.30
Wednesday 16.11.2022 19.30

Click here for a calendar for this year's conversation evenings, including venues and contact details.